Be going to

*Structure:

Positive Subject + am/is/are + going to + verb (bare inf.)
Negative Subject + am/is/are + not+ going to + verb (bare inf.)
Question Am/ Is/ Are + subject + going to + verb (bare inf.)…?

Ex:

We are going to visit our aunt next week.

It is not going to rain.

Are you going to eat that?

*Use:

We use “be going to” to talk about:

Intention or decision which will happen in the near future. She is going to fly to Hong Kong next month. 
Prediction based on what happening in the present. Look out! You are going to fall.

Look at the sky. I think it is going to rain.

*We don’t use “be going to” with the state verbs. We use “will” instead.

*Exercise:

  1. Answer the questions. You are going to do all these things but you haven’t done them yet. Use going to and the word(s) in brackets.

a. Have you cleaned the car? (tomorrow) Not yet. I’m going to clean it tomorrow.

b. Have you phoned Sally? (later) Not yet. …

c. Have you done the shopping? (this afternoon) Not yet. …

d. Have you read the paper? (after dinner) Not …

e. Have you had dinner? (just) …

KEY

  b.  I’m going to phone her later.

c. I’m going to do it this afternoon.

d. Not yet. I’m going to read it after dinner.

e. (Not yet.) I’m just going to have it.

  1. What is going to happen in these situations? Use the words in brackets.

a. There are a lot of black clouds in the sky. (rain) It’s going to rain.

b. It is 8.30. Jack is leaving his house. He has to be at work at 8.45 but the journey takes 30 minutes. (late) He …

c. There is a hole in the bottom of the boat. A lot of water is coming in through the hole. (sink) The boat …

d. Emma is driving. There is very little petrol left in the tank. The nearest petrol station is a long way away. (run out) She …

KEY

b. He is going to be late.

c. The boat is going to sink.

d. She is going to run out of petrol.

  1. Complete the sentences using will (‘ll) or going to.

a. A: Why are you turning on the television?

  B: I’m going to watch the news. (I/watch)

b. A: Oh, I’ve just realised. I haven’t got any money.

B: Haven’t you? Well, don’t worry. … you some. (I/lend)

c. A: I’ve got a headache.

B: Have you? Wait there and … an aspirin for you. (I/get)

d. A: Why are you filling that bucket with water?

B: … the car. (I/wash)

e. A: I’ve decided to repaint this room.

B: Oh, have you? What colour … it? (you/paint)

f. A: Where are you going? Are you going shopping?

B: Yes, … something for dinner. (I/buy)

g. A: I don’t know how to use this camera.

B: It’s quite easy. … you. (I/show)

h. A: What would you like to eat?

B: … a sandwich, please. (I/have)

i. A: Did you post that letter for me?

B: Oh, I’m sorry. I completely forgot … it now. (I/do)

j. A: The ceiling in this room doesn’t took very safe, does it?

B: No, it looks as if … down. (it/fall)

k. A: Has George decided what to do when he leaves school?

B: Oh, yes. Everything is planned. … a holiday for a few weeks and then … a computer programming course. (he/have, he/do)

KEY

  b. I’ll lend

c. I’ll get

d. I’m going to wash

e. are you going to paint

f. I’m going to buy

g. I’ll show

h. I’ll have

i. I’ll do

j. It is going to fall

k. He’s going to have … he’s going to do

 

The information we used is collected from different sources on the Internet and in English coursebooks.

Leave a Reply

